Consider God’s word and the safety provided wildlife.

The trees of the Lord are full of sap; the cedars of Lebanon, which he hath planted; Where the birds make their nests: as for the stork, the fir-trees are her house. The high hills are a refuge for the wild goats; and the rocks for the conies. Psalms 104: 17-178

I thought of this on a partly cloudy day when a duck was leisurely paddling along a bay as though hurt or wounded with an alligator following close behind just waiting for the chance to nab the duck in his jaws.

The duck reached finally reached the safety of marsh grass — so the gator veered off to deeper water in search of easier forage.

Safe havens are necessary, not only for wildlife but for humans.

Consider that God will provide us safety when we petition him. The Psalmist was saved from death when he called on the Lord.

The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower. I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies (Psalms 18: 2-3).

An animal may foraging in open field to see advancing prey, holing up in a tree for defense, or roosting in the upper limbs of a tree for a night’s rest from ground crawling varmints.

But our safety comes from being in God’s spirit,who leads and guides us to safe places because he wants glory and witness.

There is no hope in man, but whoso puts their trust in the Lord will be saved.

©Klee2017

Leave a Reply

